CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

a general census of the Dominion in the year 1871 and every tenth vear thereafter.

It next provided for the Executive Government of the Union. This was to consist of a Governor-General and a Council to aid and advise in the administration of the Government. This Council is styled the "Privy Council" and is composed of such persons as may be from time to time summoned for that purpose by the Governor-All the powers of the administration are to be exercised by the Governor-General and by the advice of his Council, subject, of course, to the laws of the land.

All military and naval forces are under the command in chief of the Sovereign, who acts through his representative the Governor-General, who in turn is advised by the Government of Canada in carrying into effect the established laws relating to military and naval service.

Legislative Power.—The legislative power of Canada is declared to be vested in one parliament. This parliament (Sec. 17) consists of the King, the Senate and the House of Commons. The parliament must be called together at least once a year (Sec. 20), so that twelve months shall not intervene between two sessions of parliament.

Senate.—At the beginning of the Union the Senate consisted of 72 members. At present it consists of 87 members as follows:



GEORGE BROWN

Maritime Provinces 24, Quebec 24, Ontario 24, and the Western Provinces 15. A senator must be, at the time of his appointment (Sec. 23), at least thirty years of age, a British subject, a resident of the province for which he is appointed and worth \$4,000 over and above his debts and liabilities. His appointment is for life, subject to certain restrictions set forth in Sections 31 and 39. The Speaker of the Senate must be a senator. is appointed by the government of the day, which may also remove him and appoint another in his place. Fifteen senators form a quorum.

House of Commons.—The House of Commons, at the time of confederation, consisted of 181 members, but

at the general election after the conclusion of the twelfth parliament it will be composed of 234 members. The Speaker of the House of Commons is elected by the members of the House, twenty of whom constitute a quorum for the despatch of business (Secs. 44 and 48).

Speaker and Deputy Speaker.—In pursuance of legislation and according to the rules of the House of Commons, a deputy speaker is selected at the commencement of each parliament. This official is required to possess a full and practical knowledge of the language which is not that of the Speaker. As a custom growing out of this